Tennessee Car Insurance Laws

Aug 28, 2018 (0) comment

Tennessee Car Insurance Laws

AmeriAgency wants you to get the Tennessee car insurance limits you need to get on the road for as little cost as possible. But, before you buy auto insurance, it’s important to know Tennessee car insurance laws so you can make sure you meet the legal requirements in the Volunteer State.

Tennessee Insurance Laws

Tennessee Car Insurance Laws

Tennessee car insurance laws, also known as Financial Responsibility Laws, require drivers to carry certain minimum amounts of auto insurance limits in case of an accident. According to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security, drivers are required to carry minimum limits auto insurance in the following amounts:

  • $25,000 for one bodily injury or death
  • $50,000 for all bodily injuries and death
  • $15,000 for property damage for one accident

Tennessee car insurance laws requires drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage that equals the limits for bodily injury and property damage listed in the driver’s policy.

For example, if your minimum coverage is 25/50/15 for bodily injury and property damage, it must also provide 25/50/15 coverage for accidents with uninsured/underinsured motorists. This coverage helps guarantee that you’re protected if you’re in an accident with an at-fault driver who is not insured, or if you do not have enough coverage to pay for the losses suffered in the accident.

Tennessee Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance

Tennessee has updated its penalties for driving without car insurance or providing evidence of financial responsibility. Driving without car insurance in the state of Tennessee is now a Class A misdemeanor if you are involved in an auto accident that results in bodily injury or death. If you are at fault, the penalties of a conviction are:

  • Fines up to $2,500
  • Jail time for up to 11 months and 29 days

In order to reinstate your driving privileges if suspended, you will need to meet all requirements necessary for reinstatement such as filing SR-22 insurance documentation to prove financial responsibility.

Tennessee DUI/DWI Laws and Penalties

In the State of Tennessee, it is illegal to drive with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or above. It is also illegal for commercial drivers to have a BAC of 0.04 and for drivers under the age of 21 to have a BAC of 0.02. Tennessee DUI laws also include driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, amphetamines, inhalants and other intoxicants.

If you are pulled over for a DUI/DWI and refuse to consent to a blood or urine test, your license will be revoked for 1 year for a first offense and 2 years for a second offense.

Additional penalties for driving under the influence include:

  • 1st Offense
    • 0.20 BAC or greater results in minimum jail time of 7 consecutive days
    • $350 to $1,500 fine
    • License revocation for 1 year
    • Participation in an alcohol and drug treatment program
    • Restitution payments to any person suffering physical injury or personal loss
    • Possible installation of an Ignition Interlock Device at your expense
  • 2nd Offense
    • $600 to $3,500 fine
    • License revocation for 2 years (Restricted License available after first year)
    • Vehicle subject to seizure/forfeiture
    • Participation in an alcohol and drug treatment program
    • Restitution payments to any person suffering personal injury or loss
    • Possible installation of an Ignition Interlock Device at your expense
  • 3rd Offense
    • $1,100 to $10,000 fine
    • License revocation for 6-10 years (NO restricted license available)
    • Subject to vehicle seizure/forfeiture
    • Participation in an alcohol and drug treatment program
    • Judge could order an Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense
    • If two (2) convictions of DUI in 5 years, then an Ignition Interlock Device is required for 6 months after reinstatement at your expense
  • 4th and Subsequent Offenses
    • Class E Felony
    • 1 Year (365) days of jail time with a minimum of 150 consecutive days served
    • $3,000 to $15,000 mandatory fine
    • License revocation for 8 years (NO restricted license available)
    • Subject to vehicle seizure/forfeiture
    • Participation in an alcohol and drug treatment program
    • Judge could order an Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense
    • If two (2) convictions of DUI in 5 years, then an Ignition Interlock Device is required for 6 months after reinstatement at your expense

Tennessee Cell Phone Driving Laws and Texting While Driving Laws

Tennessee insurance laws do not include currently a hand-held cell phone ban. However, cell phone use is prohibited for novice drivers with a learner’s permit or intermediate license as well as school bus drivers. The penalties for conviction include:

  • Class C misdemeanor
  • $50 fine
  • 90 day delay in eligibility for intermediate restricted or intermediate driving license

Tennessee does have a texting while driving law banning all drivers from texting while behind the wheel. Texting while driving in the state of Tennessee is a primary offense which means an officer can pull you over if they catch you sending an email or text message from a mobile device. Additional penalties for texting while driving include a $50 fine plus court costs. However, the ban on texting exempts law enforcement officers, firefighters and emergency medical persons who are on duty.

Tennessee SR-22 & Tennessee Car Insurance Laws

An SR-22 insurance document filing is required when a driver seeks to reinstate their driver’s license after being convicted of a DUI, reckless driving, driving without insurance, or some other driving violation that has resulted in a suspension. It is a form that provides proof of future financial responsibility and may be required for a total of 5 years from the date of suspension.

The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security states “If the SR-22 is filed for a total of 3 years (36 months) within the 5-year period, the SR-22 may be cancelled provided it is not required on any other suspension. If 5 years pass from the date of suspension before you reinstate your privileges, then the SR-22 would not be required. If the SR-22 is cancelled before the required time and a new form not filed, your driving privileges will be suspended.”  Call AmeriAgency at 888-851-5572 for more information on Tennessee insurance laws

If requested, your insurer can electronically file the SR-22 insurance documents to get you driving on the road legally as quickly as possible.

Affordable Car Insurance in Tennessee

Don’t get caught on the wrong side of Tennessee car insurance laws.  We help you find low down payments and easy monthly payment options to get you on the road fast.

Comment (0)

Leave a Comments

Subscribe to "The AmeriAgency Advantage"

en_USEnglish
es_ESEspañol en_USEnglish