Tennessee SR22 Insurance
SR22 INSURANCE – TENNESSEE (TN)
What is SR22 Insurance
To reinstate your license after a DUI, your insurance company must file an SR22 certificate with the DMV. An SR22 verifies your fulfillment of Tennessee’s minimum liability requirements.
Failure to pay your premium will result in an invalid SR22 and a suspended license.
Easily Reinstate Your License
Our real-time rate comparison among the nation’s leading insurance companies allows us to find you the cheapest SR22 insurance. Act now to get a a quote in less than five minutes.
SR22 Insurance Cost
The cost of SR22 insurance is determined by your state’s minimum liability requirements. The SR22 insurance minimum in Tennessee is $25,000 for injury to one person, $50,000 for injury to two or more people, and $15,000 for property damage.
Tennessee DUI Laws & Penalties
It is unlawful for a person to drive in Tennessee with a BAC of .08 or higher. Penalties for a DUI in Tennessee may include jail time, fines, license suspension, and an alcohol education class.
Higher Rates for Tennessee SR22 Insurance
Tennessee SR-22 rates are often far higher than general insurance rates within the state. However, it is important to know who needs SR22 insurance as there are a variety of reasons that you may be required to obtain this high-risk insurance policy. Depending on the circumstances, you could be required to maintain the insurance for up to five years.
If required to complete an SR22 form, it is important that you do so immediately as failing to obtain or maintain financial responsibility will result in potential consequences, including jail time, fines and the suspension of your driver’s license or vehicle registration. Therefore, it is important that you familiarize yourself with Tennessee high-risk insurance laws. To learn more about SR-22 requirements in Tennessee, including what this form of insurance is, when it is required and how to obtain it, review the information provided within the section below.
What is Tennessee SR22 insurance?
Tennessee SR-22 insurance rates are higher than general auto insurance due to the nature of this form of insurance. SR22 is considered a “high-risk insurance” that is only required of individuals who are convicted of certain traffic-related offenses as well as after a driver’s license is revoked or suspended. In circumstances like these, you will be legally obligated to obtain and maintain this form of high-risk insurance in order to satisfy proof of financial responsibility.
A Tennessee SR22 insurance form can be filed by an insurance company that has been licensed through the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance. While rates are often higher for this form of insurance, the rates themselves are determined by the insurance company. Therefore, if trying to save money, it is important to review the insurance rates that different agencies offer.
Once required to obtain SR22, you will be required to maintain that insurance for a period of three to five years, depending on your circumstances and the nature of your conviction. During this period of time, you must maintain your insurance, even if you no longer have a vehicle. If you acquire a new vehicle, you will need to have your insurance agency complete a new form right away. Should you switch your insurance company during this time, you will be required to make sure that the company files immediately.
If a Tennessee SR22 insurance form is required after the suspension of your driver’s license, it is important to know that you will not be required to obtain this form of insurance if you choose not to reinstate your driving privileges. For example, if five years have passed from the date of your driver’s license suspension prior to the date that you pursue the reinstatement of your driver’s license, you will not be required to obtain high-risk insurance. However, if you do reinstate your driver’s license and you lose your insurance or experience a lapse in coverage prior to the required time, your driving privileges will be suspended again.